Monday, November 11, 2013

Volunteer Recognition Celebration

Thyme Award Winners
By Chuck Hemric
Director of Volunteer Services

Volunteers are a force of nature at Sarah P. Duke Gardens. We have more than 300 active volunteers, and their value goes far beyond their investment of time. It is the quality and depth they add to the visitors’ experiences that cannot be measured by time or with monetary gifts. The selfless and generous acts of these volunteers are what breathe life into the Gardens. As Kahlil Gibran writes,“There are those who give with joy, and that joy is their reward.” 

Jeff Prather with his Gehman Award for Volunteer Excellence
Recently, the volunteers and staff gathered to celebrate the many volunteers and their contributions over the past year. The evening began with hors d’oeuvres on the lawn adjacent to the Page-Rollins White Garden. Pie Pushers catered the event with delicious treats and creative beverages. A fun game encouraged attendees to converse, mingle and answer Gardens trivia question as well as determine specific ingredients within the items offered.

Emily Reisner with her Margie Watkins Volunteer Spirit Award
Following the reception, everyone moved to Kirby Horton Hall for the awards presentations. Throughout the program, various staff members shared how important and vital the volunteers are to the many successes that are enjoyed at Sarah P. Duke Gardens. A slideshow depicting the various activities of volunteers rolled throughout the evening.

Bob Ayers, left, photographer & award winner, with fellow photographer Wendell Hull
20 volunteers were presented with the Golden Thyme Award, recognized as recording the most volunteer hours. In addition, those volunteers who have served actively for 10 or 15 years were also named.

The evening ended with jars of honey from the Duke Gardens beehives given to those who answered the game questions correctly. A parting gift of cowpea seeds, collected in the Charlotte Brody Discovery Garden, was given to each attendee. 

Janice Gilchrist, center, with her Rookie of the Year award.
Pictured with Jan Watson and Chuck Hemric
Award Winners 

10-year volunteer: Andy Wheeler
15-year volunteers: Barbara Branson, Nan Len, Margaret McCotter and Charlotte Newby

Thyme Award winners: Barbara Branson, Mary Dawson, Helen Dennis, Beth Elkins, Patty Forster, Janice Gilchrist, Pauli Hensen, Betty Jordan, Nan Len, Parker Morton, Shelly Nowik, Donna Owens, Cheryl Prather, Theo Roddy, Cheryl Sanford, Sharon Sokol, Delores Traeger, Pu Wang, Karen Webbink and Andy Wheeler.

Rookie of the Year: Janice Gilchrist
Margie Watkins Volunteer Spirit Award: Emily Reisner
Gehman Award for Volunteer Excellence: Jeff Prather

See below for more photos of our wonderful staff and volunteers enjoying the Volunteer Recognition Celebration! Interested in volunteering? Call for more information at (919) 668-1705 or visit our volunteer page and fill out an application.

Photos by Wendell Hull and Orla Swift

No comments:

Post a Comment